What is God’s Will?

Pastor James MacDonald of Harvest Bible Chapel started March off with some true or false questions.

“To begin, we’re going to take a test. I’ve got seven statements for you. Maybe you’ll get them right. Or maybe this will illustrate my point. Mark each true or false:”

1. God has a specific plan for my life which I am to discern (figure out) and follow. T or F?

2. God’s will can be divided into two categories, God’s perfect will and God’s permissive will. T or F?

3. Little hunches or promptings I feel are God’s way of revealing His will to me.
T or F?

4. A key factor in making godly decisions is if I have peace about it. T or F?

5. It is wrong to use a fleece (a little test) in determining God’s will. T or F?

6. When faced with two good alternatives, I must be careful not to make the wrong choice. T or F?

7. Some people are called to be in vocational ministry. Most people are not called. T or F?

I went through each question and gave my answers.  But before I got to all of the questions, my eyes wandered to the answers. 🙂  The answers to all of the questions are False.  I was glad to be on that path when I looked and when i finished I agreed they were all false.  But….

Some of the questions had me conflicted.  I was torn how to answer thinking I was off.  Take question 4:  A key factor in making godly decisions is if I have peace about it.  When I make a decision that is godly, I feel peace.  So that is God.  But what if that is just me thinking it was godly and not God’s will?

Pastor James says each of the daily devotions in March will  help me understand biblically how each question is answered false.  I am going to try to append this post with each answer.

From the March 9 devotion – God’s Word on God’s Will.

“God doesn’t control everything. God is in control but God does not control every decision. We make decisions; God determines outcomes. He “works all things” according to the counsel of His will. If you make a right choice, God uses it. If you make a wrong choice, God uses it. Sometimes it’s not a matter of right or wrong choice (which way to drive to the mall), and God still “works” it. But within His oversight, plan, and sovereign right to intervene, we make real decisions for which we are and will be held responsible. But isn’t it great to know that in the end, we can’tmess up God’s plan?”

11In him we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the purpose of him who works all things according to the counsel of his will, 12so that we who were the first to hope in Christ might be to the praise of His glory.
13In Him you also, when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and believed in him, were sealed with the promised Holy Spirit, 14who is the guarantee of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it, to the praise of His glory. – Ephesians 1:11-14

Leave a Reply

