Dependence on God alone

Jesus commissioned the Twelve to drive out demons and heal the sick in Mark 6:7-13.

He told them to not take extra provisions: no bread, no traveling bag, no money, and not even an extra shirt. Why?

My first thought was that Jesus wanted the Twelve to totally depend on God.  The people would see that they had nothing extra and total dependence would be on God.

But I also started wondering if they were to carry extra stuff the people might have felt like the Twelve were casting out demons and healing the sick for money or material gain.

Or is it that Jesus wanted the towns and houses the Twelve visited to help them out.  A way to give back to God by helping out the Twelve and show thankfulness for casting out demons and healing the sick.

2 Responses to “Dependence on God alone”

  1. cheap air plan tickets Says:

    First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts
    before writing. I’ve had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Appreciate it!

    • I start my day reading the bible and pray. I get my inspiration from what God shows me and I write down my thoughts.

      Thanks for the kind words on my blog.

      Ken

Leave a Reply

